Upper East Side|New York Yoga – HOT Studio

Ahhhh…. Monday. By far my least favorite day of the week, but, isn’t it everyone’s? Your weekend is over and more likely than not, the day was spent catching up on e-mails, hardly getting a chance to leave your desk, straining your neck as you held a phone to your ear while simultaneously typing an e-mail on your phone and sipping your 3rd cup of coffee with your other hand amirite???

I try to stand for some of the day at work, and try to stretch out when I can to avoid the inevitable back, shoulder and neck pain I inevitably experience after sitting in an office chair from 9:00 – 6:00. But (obviously) it’s never enough. Which is why a class like last night’s Vinyasa Flow at New York Yoga’s Hot Studio on the Upper East Side was the perfect Monday evening remedy.

monday-yoga

Basic Breakdown 

Class Name: Vinyasa Flow

Instructor: Teresa Harris

Neighborhood: Upper East Side

Sweat Factor (out of 5): 5/5 (I sweat like a beast during these classes. Like I can’t even remotely wear a shirt.)

Fun Factor (out of 5): 4/5

Class Overview:

I arrived to the studio early and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who provided me with a free hand/face towel, and pointed me towards the locker room. The locker rooms were small, but sufficient; unless it’s a packed class, I don’t imagine it gets insanely crowded in there. No locks though – if you’re leaving valuables, I’d bring your own lock. The studio itself isn’t too big either. Our class probably had 4 rows of 4 or 5 in each. It was a little tight, but we made it work, and in none of the poses was it a huge issue to be too close to your neighbors. It was clean and while it smelled faintly of that distinct ‘hot yoga smell,’ it was the last class of the day. So that’s kind of to be expected. Because it was evening, the room was nice and dark so I had no problem staying focused. We began the class with no background noise, but as we began to flow, our instructor put on some calming music (which I always love). Our instructor was very hands on – something else I really appreciate during yoga classes (especially with how sweaty I get). It’s really important to me to get the poses right. If I had my way, I’d have her next to me the whole class just moving my body where it needs to go. But Teresa was attentive without being overbearing, and I loved her flow and her attitude through the class. She pushed us but not so far that it was painful, and always offered both challenges and modifications to poses. By the end I was drenched in sweat and SO ready for bed. Overall, a great experience. And a GREAT end to my Monday.

Additional Details:

  • Bring your own mat, otherwise you’ll need to rent one for $4 which is a little pricey
  • DEFINITELY bring a towel for yourself. Especially if you sweat like me. The room gets seriously hot, especially when it’s crowded.
  • There are two showers in the ladies locker room for use but not much changing room, so just be aware.
  • They have a hairdryer!!! 🙂
  • BRING YOUR OWN WATER. Don’t forget. No water available.

Will Visit Again?: Yes!

Definitely recommend giving New York Yoga (HOT Studio) a try!

*Bonus!*

Absolutely need to share something here. If you guys haven’t purchased anything from Fabletics yet, you’re missing out. Look at this AWESOME sports bra I got from them this week. I’m obsessed. It was such a good fit, I love the pattern; plus I felt super trendy rocking it in class 😉

IMG_0082
Check out their stuff here! You’ll love it 🙂

Until next time…
Keep on sweating! xoxo

Leave a Reply

