Flatiron | Beebe’s Buttcamp | ‘A Well Rounded Workout’

Hey all!

I know it’s been a while since I posted. With the holiday season, the New Year’s Eve festivities, and a wedding in early January, I’ve essentially been on an IV of Champagne straight to the bloodstream. But I’m excited to get back into my fitness routine, move my ass from dance floors to studio floors, and shake some of those extra pounds off that ass.

Ah, speaking of booty…

My biggest complaint about ClassPass as a whole is that I can’t filter through classes based on the part of my body that I want to work out on a given day. Prior to CP, I used to go to the gym (and pretend I knew what I was doing lolz), choosing what I wanted to work on that day. Whether it was abs, booty, or arms, I’d attempt to focus on just that (and copy what all the really fit girls were doing). While ClassPass offers SO many options, I wish that, in the same way I can filter by ‘Activity,’ ‘Near,’ or ‘Amenities,’ I could filter by ‘Butt’ and get a list of all the classes that would get my booty burning. ARE YOU THERE CLASSPASS GOD? ITS ME, KRISTEN.

Which leads me to a few days ago. As I was recently scrolling through available classes, I was pleased to see that one class had ’00’ written before their name. And as everyone knows, before the days of the #peach emoji, ’00’ was the only way to send a subliminal ‘booty’ message. (The ’00’ also plants them at the top of the list – so smart.) And that is how I discovered Beebe’s Buttcamp.

BeeBes

Basic Breakdown

Class Name: Beebe’s Buttcamp: A Well Rounded Workout

Instructor(s): Jasmine-Symone Gates

Neighborhood: Flatiron

Sweat Factor (out of 5): 3/5

Fun Factor (out of 5): 5/5

Class Overview: Beebe’s Buttcamp is held on the 9th floor of Steppin’ Out Studios on W 26th Street in the heart of the Flatiron district. When the elevator doors opened we were greeted by our instructor, Jasmine, who had a welcoming smile and super cute neon pink shorts on. We filtered our way into an open studio and grabbed two dumbbells and a resistance band.

Beebes2

Let that sh*t burn

The class kicks off with a warm up that is basically a dance party – music loud, lights off; a similar setting to Vixen Workout. We did lots of aerobic, cardio-based movements to get our bodies ready for the ass-kicking (literally) they were about to receive. We did probably one million squats. …Okay, exaggeration. But it felt like it. Resistance bands around our knees,  we squatted, lifted, squeezed and pulsed until my butt felt like it was on fire. Throw in some leg lifts with the bands, more weighted squats and booty bridges and I was dreaming of crawling into bed. Then it was #TWERKTIME, when we did some more aerobic dance moves before a final few minutes of SERIOUS cardio burn (think high knees, jump squats, etc.). Class ended with a much-needed stretch-sesh.

“Just smile, so I know you’re all still with me,” Jasmine asked a few times through class. And truly, it was easy to do that. Like many of the cardio-dance classes I’ve done, Beebe’s was a blast. However, it’s a step up for me personally from the others, because of the super effective glute workout you get in addition to high-intensity cardio. The perfect class for Hump Day if I do say so myself.

As Sir MixALot once said, “You can do side-bends or sit-ups, but please don’t lose that butt.” Thank goodness for Beebe’s Buttcamp. I have seen the light. Memorial Day Weekend is just about four months away and I now know the way to a fabulous bikini booty.

Beebes3

Instructor Jasmine gettin’ down with great form and greater booty shorts

Additional Details:

  • Resistance bands: They come in various sizes/resistances. Be sure you get the right one. Too little resistance, you won’t get the full effect of the workout. Too much and it’s almost uncomfortable.
  • I believe there are showers in the bathroom on the 9th floor.
  • No lockers available, but everyone lines their belongings up in the back and along the sides of the room, so no need to worry about leaving your stuff.
  • BYO water bottle + towel
  • If you have sneakers with good support, wear them – you’ll do a lot of jumping in the warm-up.
  • Get ready to GET LOW.

Will Visit Again?: I can’t wait to get this ass back to class – I’m bringing all my flat-butt friends with me.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 10.22.57 PM

The key to success (or at least a fab bottom): Beebe’s Buttcamp

*BONUS BOOTYWORKOUT: Go back through this post and do a squat every time I wrote the word “booty”. You’re welcome. 00

Leave a Reply

